A Tale of Worldly Worries, Renewed Faith, and the Triumph of Kindness

Trying to find my voice….

Sandy Gold
4 min readNov 25, 2023
Photo by Mei-Ling Mirow on Unsplash

I haven’t written much lately. I haven’t read for pleasure much either.
I’m having trouble concentrating, I’ve been so consumed with the news.

Since October 7th, any time I’ve sat down to write or to read, I find myself online instead, scrolling through news stories.

I’ve been horrified by the footage that is being released.

When I lie down at night, I can’t sleep. No matter how tired I am, I can’t help but worry about the hostages. My heart hurts when I think about the children, on both sides of the border, whose lives have been taken or broken forever by this war.

As horrifying as the news stories and the videos have been, it’s often the comments that have been even more shocking to me. The hatred that oozes from posts sends my stomach into knots.

Growing up, I was one of very few Jewish families in my elementary school. I still remember going home from school in the fifth grade and asking my parents why this one boy kept throwing pennies at me when I walked by him.

It was about that time when my parents told me about a trip my grandparents had made many years earlier. They were passing through a small…

--

--

Sandy Gold

I’m an educator, an advocate for inclusion, an avid reader, and a mother struggling to adjust to being an empty nester. IG:@sandygoldcoaching